Late to the scene

At 26 is it too late be getting in to the car scene?

Having been a “in to cars” since 18 I’ve been to a couple of meets and done a few roads trips I wouldn’t say I have ever been heavily involved. This year has seen a revival of my passion after getting car number 9. An Mazda MX5 mk1, pretty much stock apart from a Beat racing front bumper. My first rear wheel drive sports car, the project possibilities are endless.

Do I build a fast road car for spirited runs, a drift car for track days or just a beautifully modified daily?

While there are forums to stalk and Facebook pages to like, is there any UK car culture left? I see the videos from Japan of car parks full with amazing cars and passionate people. The USA has salt flats and street racing. Germany the Nurburgring.

Us? Speed cameras and pot holes.

So as a lonely driver, this year I will be going to as many car events as I can get too. Any type type, local meets, club cruises, track day and the big events.

L.D

Leave a Reply

